About Bujinkan

Bujinkan (武神館) is a martial arts organization headed out of Noda-shi, Japan and is comprised of 9 separate classical combat systems, (3) Ninjutsu and (6) Samurai.  

NINJUTSU 忍術 sometimes used interchangeably with the term ninpō 忍法 is a several centuries old martial art that employs the strategy and tactics of the feudal Ninja.

Griffith Park Bujinkan instructors are licensed by Dr. Masaaki Hatsumi, the head of the international Bujinkan martial arts organization based in Japan and travel regularly to Japan and abroad to train with the Grandmaster Masaaki Hatsumi, the Japanese Dai Shihan’s, and other chief instructors around the globe.

The 9 schools consist of unarmed and armed (swords, sticks, and many other traditional Japanese weapons) classical martial art techniques. 

The 9 ryūha (schools)  include:








Ninpo techniques emphasize stealth and deception and employ any available weapons in self-defense.

The six major types of training include:

  • 1. Striking techniques (Dakentaijutsu).
  • 2. Grappling: throws, locks, chokes (Jutaijutsu).
  • 3. Skeletal manipulation (Koppojutsu).
  • 4. Muscular & nervous system attacks (Kosshijutsu).
  • 5. Body movement counter/avoid techniques (Taihenjutsu).
  • 6. Weapons: traditional, contemporary tools & nature as extension of body (Bukijutsu).